premiere of "A Concerto of Colours" by Stephen Goss

Date: September 28th, 2017

A Concerto of Colours

2017 | 18 mins | for guitar and wind ensemble Stephen Goss

(fl, ob (ca), cl (bcl), s.sax (t.sax), a.sax (t.sax), bn (cbn), 2 hns, tpt, trb, timp, perc x 2, gtr, cb)

1. Albuquerque Turquoise
2. Still Black
3. Green Movement
4. Nocturne in Blue and Gold
5. Red Rocks

The impetus behind A Concerto of Colours is the vivid, resonant landscape of the American South West. There are five short, highly contrasting, movements.

Stephen Goss (born 2 February 1964) is a Welsh composer, guitarist and academic. His varied compositional output includes orchestral and choral works, chamber music, and solo pieces. His music draws freely on a number of styles and genres. He is particularly known for his guitar music, which is performed and recorded widely.

Currently Professor of Composition and Director of Research in the Department of Music and Media at the University of Surrey, UK, Goss is also a Professor of Guitar at the Royal Academy of Music in London. He is the Director of the International Guitar Research Centre, which he founded with John Williams and Milton Mermikides in 2014. Before moving to the University of Surrey in 1999, he taught at the Yehudi Menuhin School.

Stephen Goss studied at the Royal Academy of Music (where he won the Julian Bream Prize in 1986) and the Universities of Bristol and London (where he completed his doctorate in 1997). His composition teachers were Edward Gregson, Robert Saxton, Peter Dickinson and Anthony Payne, and he studied guitar with Michael Lewin

« Back to All News