European Championship for Wind Orchestras 21st of May

Date: May 21st, 2016

Each orchestra will play a concert of an hour including the obligatory compostion “Cerebral Vortex” written by the Norwegian composer Øyvind Moe (1979). The piece was written for Musikkforeningen Nidarholm for their participation in the World Music Contest 2009 in Kerkrade. The jury of the European Championship for Wind Orchestras has a strong international character with Chairman Jan van den Eijnden (NL) and jury members Irene Anda (N), Jan van der Roost (B) en Simone Rebello (UK).

The participating orchestras are:

Concertband Maasmechelen (Belgium)

Jazeps Medins Riga Music Secondary (Latvia)

Koninklijke Harmonie van Thorn (the Netherlands)

The Danish Concert Band (Denmark)

  • Civica Filarmonica di Lugano (Switzerland)

Eynsford Concert Band (England)

The championships are the ideal opportunity to hear 8 of the best orchestras with varying ways of performing, all in one place.

Further information

The complete programme can be found on and and you will be able to follow the event on Facebook and Twitter.

« Back to All News