Consortium Opportunity

Date: May 11th, 2016

I am writing to invite participants for a commissioning consortium of what I think will be an exciting and significant addition to our repertoire from composer Michael Ippolito. Michael was a student of John Corigliano at The Juilliard School and his music has been performed by the nations leading conductors and orchestras, including Edo de Waart and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, Marin Alsop and the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, David Alan Miller and the Albany Symphony, and Jeffrey Milarsky and the Juilliard Orchestra. He is currently Coordinator of Composition at Texas State University.

Michaels previous wind band composition, West of the Sun, was named as an Honorable Mention for the 2014 ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize. It is indicative of his expression of compelling musical drama with stunning timbral color. There are two recordings available of West of the Sun, one by The University of Georgia Wind Ensemble from the 2012 premiere and one by the Texas State University Wind Symphony from their 2015 performance at TMEA.

The new composition will be a 25-30 minute work for full wind band. Here is Michaels description:

The working title for this large-scale work for wind ensemble is "Machine Become Music. The inspiration comes from the wind ensemble itself, as a striking visual image, all pipes and valves and keys. The wind ensemble is a giant strange and wonderful machine that comes together to make beautiful music, so my idea for the piece to have a composition that begins with seemingly mechanical formal structures (like the passacaglia, or contrapuntal and rhythmic devices and palindromes) and creates expressive, exciting music within these structures.

Im imagining 3-4 movements totaling 25-30 minutes. The piece would use a Concerto for Orchestra approach – highlighting various sections of the wind ensemble throughout the piece.

The movements will roughly follow this outline:
1. Mysterious, primordial prelude (with explosive middle section) (ca. 5-10 minutes)
2. Scherzo and slow movement (perhaps these would be combined into one continuous ABA movement: scherzo-slow-scherzo) (ca. 5–10 minutes)
3. Monumental passacaglia (ca. 10 minutes)

Here are some details regarding being a consortium member:
The buy-in is $800.
The anticipated premiere date will be in the Fall of 2017 and will be given by Texas State University. After the premiere, consortium institutions will have exclusive performing rights through May 2019.
Each consortium institution will receive a bound score and pdf parts to keep.
If you agree to join the consortium, you will be sent an invoice with payment received by March 1, 2017.

Please let me know as soon as possible if you are interested in joining this consortium.

Have a great summer!

Caroline Beatty
Director of Bands
School of Music
Texas State University

« Back to All News